Ana Masacote Posts / My Progression as a Dancer by Ana Masacote

My Progression as a Dancer by Ana Masacote: Part 1

From Ana Masacote:

Ana MasacotePhoto courtesy of Valentin Behringer

Ana Masacote
Photo courtesy of Valentin Behringer

I am the Artistic Director and Co-founder of Masacote Entertainment, a Salsa music and dance company based in Boston, MA (USA). Through my work, I have had the good fortune to be able to tour over 30 countries on 5 different continents. This is quite a feat considering I am a first-generation Mexican American who as a child could only say she had visited Mexico.

My first job was a housekeeper, right in step with my mother’s line of work, but my dreams were far too big to contain me. I dreamed of being anything that could give me the ability to see the world. And one day, I found it: SALSA…

Dance had always been a part of my life, but it was always something I saw as a hobby and not a career. I settled on pursuing a career in electrical engineering & computer science, going as far as to set my eyes on the prestigious Massachusetts Institute of Technology (the top engineering school in the US) for college, and then I attended my first salsa congress: the West Coast Congress of 2000.

I was amazed at what I saw, but more than at the ability of the dancers; I was amazed that people could do this for a living. These people lived my dream, and yet it had been sitting on my lap all along. This was the first time I realized I could pursue dance as a career, and I threw myself wholeheartedly into it.

I finished school at MIT for business and founded the company during college with my husband. It’s always felt like an uphill battle, with unexpected valleys on the way, but we have definitely learned and grown with the company as well. I can honestly say I have transformed my life through music and dance. Today, I am excited to say my dreams of traveling the world have come true.

This is the first part of an introspective blog on my humble beginnings to my journey and experiences along the way. It is my attempt to continually remind myself of my love for dance, and why I continue to do what I do. I also hope to inspire others to follow their dreams and transform their lives as well.

We all have passions, and the paths we take to follow these passions are not always seen in 20/20, but by taking a moment to see what we have accomplished and enjoy the journey instead of the destination, the more we can enjoy getting there.

In dedication to my students who sometimes experience times of frustration and my friends who sometimes need a little push to make change happen: This is My Progression as a Dancer.

The ever-evolving student of dance,

Ana Masacote

“Before we become teachers, we are first students, and a sincere teacher will always remain a student at heart.

One thought on “My Progression as a Dancer by Ana Masacote: Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Salseras Who Have Shaped Me | lovetonya

Do you agree with the writer? Let us know!

